Skip Navigation Links

Florida's Public Adjuster Licenses

Register now

What Can I Do With a Public Adjusters License?

A Public Adjuster is someone who acts on behalf of, or aids an policyholder in negotiating for the settlement of a claim or claims for loss or damage covered by an insurance contract.


How Do I Get The 3-20 Public Adjusters License?

DFS Website states : "Must have the following prerequisite(s) before applying: Has been licensed in this state as an all-lines adjuster, and has been appointed on a continual basis for the previous 6 months as a public adjuster apprentice under s. [Requires State Examination] 626.8561 , as an independent adjuster under s. 626.855, or as a company employee adjuster under s. 626.856."

If you do not currently have the 6-20 All Lines Adjusters license, we offer a 4 day program that allows you to waive the state exam for the 6-20. Click to Learn More!

DFS Website states :

" Bonded:
File an original fifty thousand-dollar ($50,000) surety bond, using a bond form provided by the Department. [Click here for Bond Form]
Apply:
Answer all of the questions and pay the fees to complete online application.
Fingerprints:
You must be fingerprinted. [Click here and follow the instructions]
Examination:
Upon approval, an email will be sent to you directing you to check your messages in your MyProfile account. Messages are where you may view your notifications from the department, such as an authorization for an examination. Follow the message's instructions to schedule the examination.
[Click here for the Exam Information page]
"

Once you receive the email you are able to take the state exam. However, Are You Prepared for the Exam?

DFS Website states : "Upon approval, an email will be sent to you directing you to check your messages in your MyProfile account. Messages are where you may view your notifications from the department, such as an authorization for an examination. Follow the message's instructions to schedule the examination."

Central Insurance School is Florida's premier training choice for the 3-20 Public Adjusters License. Our 4 Day Preperation Course is offered in our Clearwater location.

Central Insurance School offers a 4-day State Exam Prep program to assist you in obtaining the 3-20 Public Adjusters License.
The program study material covers property and liability concepts, automobile, property insurance, general liability, package policies, workers compensation, crime, surety bonds, marine insurance, aviation, boiler and machinery, health, as well as FL specific law, rules, regulations and Public Adjuster specific content.


Licensing Guideline

  • Been licensed in Florida as an all-lines adjuster, and has been appointed on a continual basis for the previous 6 months as a public adjuster apprentice, as an independent adjuster, or as a company employee adjuster
  • -AND-
  • File an original fifty thousand-dollar ($50,000) surety bond, using a bond form provided by the DFS.
  • Successfully pass a state exam for the 3-20 Public Adjusters license.
  • Complete an online application for License and submit the appropriate fees. Apply for license
  • Be a natural person at least 18 years of age
  • Be a resident of the state of Florida
  • Be a United States citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services
  • Be fingerprinted at one of the Department's fingerprint sites Fingerprint locations and additional information.
  • If licensed in another state within three years, provide a Letter of Clearance.
  • Not be an employee of the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or state service office, as referred to in Section 626.833, Florida Statutes.
  • There are special requirements that apply to applicants with a prior criminal history.  Click Here for more information.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use

Central Insurance School mini logo 13246 38th Street North mini logo Clearwater, FL 33762